disturbing

I really try not to put anything political on this site – but the election is on my mind so much right now, and everywhere around us, and just I feel the need to say something.  Kris did a post the other day that really hit the nail on the head as far as WHY we support Barack Obama.  And today, one of my favorite bloggers wrote about the troubling increase in racism at the McCain Palin rallies.  I’m worried for Obama, and for our country.  It’s unfathomable to me – that in 2008 – there can still be such ignorance and pure hatred in so many so-called “good Americans.”  But Melissa of Suburban Bliss puts it much more eloquently than I ever could:

“While instilling fear about Obama into their rallies (“Palling around with Terrorists”? Charming.) McCain and Palin have managed to drive their supporters into a racist frenzy. My street is littered with McCain/Palin signs, and I’m just praying they are as horrified by this angry mob as I am. The problem as I see it is McCain and Palin want Americans to be afraid of Barack Obama enough not to vote for him, but not enough to want to kill him. Though some of Palin’s words make me wonder if she doesn’t love frothing up the crowd. Unfortunately there are a lot of stupid assholes in the world and the line between not agreeing with someone’s fundamental world view and creating a false sense of terror and fear is difficult to draw for people without brains. I believe John McCain is an honorable man who wants the best for this country. I disagree with the foundation of what he believes will make this country better. I have nothing terribly kind to say about Sarah Palin so I won’t. I believe John McCain is being forced to play to this lowest common denominator of mouth breathers (“I’ve heard Obama is an Arab…” WHAT THE HELL AMERICA!?), they’re the only way he’s going to be elected. I’m trying not to lump all McCain supporters into this mass of stupidity. Still, I’m horrified at this turn in the election. I hope you are too. I don’t want this kind of culture to rule our country for another four years.”

via Suburban Bliss

(And for those friends of mine who disagree with me politically – let’s just agree to disagree.  I like this quote:)

“I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend.”

— Thomas Jefferson
2 Comments

Filed under bad days, politics, quotes, society, things that annoy me, Uncategorized

2 responses to “disturbing

  1. Leah

    Very well said – all of it.

  2. Leah

    So far the only thing I have against Obama is that he is pro-choice: and he’s very opinionated about it. Abortion, in my opinion, is very grotesque, and I believe (remember, this is MY personal belief/opinion) that unless the mother is in danger, abortion shouldn’t be an option. That being said, we can agree to disagree and let’s all remember Thomas Jefferson’s quote at the bottom of your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

