rekindling an old love…

I am, as a general rule, a Cherry Chapstick girl.  I might even be addicted to it – you’ll find sticks stashed all over my house, in every purse I own, and a few spares stored away for emergencies.  I become nervous and agitated when a tube cannot be located.  (Yes, I may have a little bit of the “crazy”)

That said, I have recently rediscovered a childhood love of mine.  While perusing the aisles of Target a few weeks ago I spotted the Bonne Bell Lip Smackers, and immediately began scanning the row for the familiar Dr. Pepper flavor I loved as a kid.  I mean, who doesn’t love a Lip Smacker?  I snapped it up and took it home, hoping it would be the same as I remember.  And it did not disappoint.  It smelled and tasted the same, and it still gives just a hint of color (all that was allowed when I was in 12).  I feel sure that it was the lip gloss I was wearing when I had my first kiss, and I was wearing it just mere moments ago when I kissed my husband of 12 years.  Now if that’s not brand loyalty, I don’t know what is.  I’m just sorry it took me so long to realize how much I missed it.  Sorry Cherry Chapstick – you have new (old) competition…

(Is there anything you loved as a child that you’ve rediscovered as an adult?  Tell me!  Don’t be afraid to comment – just click that little comment button… you know you want to…)

9 Comments

Filed under all about me, guilty pleasures, I love the 80's, makeup, nostalgic, things that I love, women

9 responses to “rekindling an old love…

  1. hotshott

    Big League Chew is the bomb. And stopping at the convenience store to make a Suicide. Awesome.

  2. Leah

    Guess I’ll be making a trip to Target! What about those GINORMOUS chapsticks – like the size of 4 chapsticks in one! Ok, so my childhood thing that I’ve rediscovered (just a couple days ago)…that game with the shapes that you have to put in place before the timer goes off and all the pieces pop off. Know what I’m talking about? Man, it gave me a high! 🙂

  3. Oooh the big chapsticks – my friend’s little sister ate her bubblegum one when we were little. Ugh!

    PERFECTION! Kris loved that game as a kid. Hmmm, we may need to get that. But the timer thing always stresses me out…

  4. those animal crackers in the circus box with the ropey handle!

  5. @ sarahsouth – YES! By the way, given your love of quirky holiday decorating – here’s an interesting little fact you may not know. The rope was originally put there so that the box could be hung on a Christmas tree. I just found this out recently. 🙂

    Also? I totally copied your candy corn votives on the mantle thing. Is there a Christmas version of this, or do we have to wait for conversation hearts at Valentine’s Day?

  6. interactivejones

    Vernor’s Ginger Ale and a Rubik’s Cube. My childhood wasn’t exactly boardgames and bubblegum. Man, you gotta love those gnomes.

  7. awww poor Gonzo. You working through some childhood issues baby? 🙂
    Hmmm, Vernon’s huh? I wonder if this is a West Coast thing. Never heard of it…

  8. Oh! You just reminded me that I need to post a pic of me when I was a Rubik’s cube for Halloween!

  9. interactivejones

    i don’t have issues, i have character. vernor’s is a Michigan thing. now I found it here in Stumptown.

Leave a Reply

