“I got a rock…”

It’s that time again – time to watch Linus and Sally sit in the “most sincere” pumpkin patch and await The Great Pumpkin.  Time to feel sorry for that blockhead Charlie Brown as he receives his bag full of rocks. (That part never fails to crack up my 2 boys.)  

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” airs tonight at 8pm ET, on ABC. We’ll definitely be watching!  It wouldn’t be Halloween without it.  

“There are three things I have learned never to discuss with people: religion, politics, and the Great Pumpkin.”

~Linus Van Pelt

5 Comments

Filed under holidays, movies, nostalgic, quotes, things that amuse me, things that I love, TV

5 responses to ““I got a rock…”

  1. I don’t think I ever saw this special when I was a kid. What a crime.

    Regarding the 80’s theme–Did you ever watch the “Ernest Show” when you were young? (Ernest from “Ernest Goes to Camp.”)

    In one episode, when he goes trick or treating with his friend (“Blue” from the movie Old School), they ask for “something good to eat.” The person throws broccoli in the bag. I thought that was the most hilarious thing.

  2. Ohhhh my goodness – you poor thing! Please tell me you watched the Charlie Brown Christmas special. PLEASE tell me you weren’t deprived of that at least! 🙂

    I can’t say that I’ve ever seen the “Ernest Show” – and I thought I was all-knowing in the 80’s department. Although I have seen the movies. My brother loved that guy when we were little. I can’t believe “You’re my boy, Blue” was on the tv show!

    Oh man – funny you should mention broccoli – this was just posted today on The Sneeze… you must read this. Also, if you click around his site – start with “Steve, don’t eat it”. This guy is hilarious.

    http://www.thesneeze.com/mt-archives/000811.php

  3. Errr…I’ve seen sections of the Charlie Brown Christmas. I do own the album!

    I had never read The Sneeze before, but his story just doesn’t add up. Why would his old friend know the Broccoli lady? I was a little confused. However, Broccoli Town does provide some net hits.

    I did laugh at Steve, don’t eat that “breast milk” edition.

  4. The album is so good – and the Christmas special is very sweet. 🙂
    The broccoli thing does seem random right? The friend he’s talking about, Lisa, does the website “Hungry Girl”, so I’m assuming they met though something she was doing for that. I dunno – he just cracks me up…

  5. Love that show! It should be mandatory viewing for every child!

    Here’s my twisted take on Linus in the future with his Great Pumpkin’s obsession:

    http://samuraidave.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/its-the-great-pumpkin-cult-charlie-brown/

Leave a Reply

